Broken Physics; Broken Graphics

I am starting to change my mind.

I looked into Chipmunk after Box2D warned me about Box2D requiring a lot of C++ experience. However, Chipmunk itself seems too complex. Worse, I could not find an API-indifferent way of putting graphics on the physics objects!

I looked into other game engines, but they, true to my predictions, use SDL or OpenGL and do not seem to have ways of rendering directly to the framebuffer. Speaking of the framebuffer, I am still awaiting on information on what exactly is a framebuffer in the first place. On Radius’ defense, Radius is probably taking time out of a busy day in making an appropriate reply.

I just feel frustrated because I feel lost. Radius gave me a much-needed nudge, but I need more.

I am not going back to Lua because I need the capabilities that C++ or Rust give. Even so, the Rust libraries and engines probably have the same dependencies on SDL or OpenGL that the other game engines have.

I should be spending this time working on my PICO-8 games.

I shall look at rpng, Libretro’s own decoder of .png graphics. That, being of Libretro itself, should have a way of rendering directly to the framebuffer.

Leave a Reply

