Delays and Re-Hoard

One of the most iconic quotes from Shigeru Miyamoto: “A delayed game is eventually good, but a rushed game is forever bad.” However, in the Internet, a couple of interesting rebuttals to this quote is Duke Nukem: Forever and The Mighty No. 9, that is, games that had a large development time but ended up underperforming terribly. The problem with that rebuttal is that both of them had undergone gross mismanagement during their long development times. Duke Nukem: Forever kept changing companies. The Mighty No. 9 was Keiji Inafune’s first time managing a game by himself, which involved him making horrible mistakes with his backer’s money among other things.

My time with Re-Hoard gave me an idea of the trouble Mr. Inafune had to stand. The only reason why I am not undergoing the same controversy is because, while Mr. Inafune as running on the money of a huge number of fans who wanted him to revive the same iconic MegaMan franchise that made Mr. Inafune historic in the first place, I am an unknown person who is making something entirely new on my own resources. Also, while The Mighty No. 9 had its development known far and wide, I made public only the source code of my game Re-Hoard because I do not want to cause such a fuss over any problems from my failing to deliver.

Of course, because this is my first game that I am fully developing and releasing, I have gone against a lot of mistakes on the overall development procedure, the most important being my own responsibility on development. More specifically, while I wanted to develop daily, I spent weeks without touching the game. Eventually, I did get around to work.

However…

ReHoardLogic

This is the farthest I could go in developing how the opponents were supposed to act in my game. I stopped in March 3rd.

…I soon remembered why I stopped in the first place. I was not just procrastinating; I was frustrated at not being able to plan how my game is supposed to run! This was the farthest I could do when planning the behavior of the opponents in the game. After that, I would still have to deal with the behavior of the player dragon, the switching between stages, the title screen, and the music, let alone the debugging! At least I managed to find good visual designs of the opponents and the treasure.

I feel stupid and useless over this inability. I spent 5 years in my Bachelor’s Degree and 3 years in my Master’s Degree; shouldn’t I be able to do this stuff by now?

 

I should not be so hard on myself here; this is actually the first time I coded around the Pico-8 API. A lot of things are still new to me. Writing this, I wonder if I went too fast before starting to code my game, even if my game is relatively simple.

I think this would be the best time that I would request help in the forums. I did not want to do so because that might leave a bad impression on others, that is, one where I would promise without delivering a game, but, because I want to actually deliver my game, I willingly put away what is, in the end, just an assumption.

Leave a Reply

