FireRed, LeafGreen, Mewtwo

2 weeks ago, Pokémon FireRed and Pokémon LeafGreen were first release.

Today, in these games, Mew gave birth to Mewtwo.

 

I hold Pokémon in high regard. I mean, while I already had a GameBoy Pocket that had Super Mario Bros. 2: 6 Golden Coins (which I played a lot), The Lion King (which I played to an extent), and another game that I forgot (and barely played), Pokémon Silver was not only the reason I got a GameBoy Color but was also my first dive into a dedication of handheld gaming.

The same goes to console gaming: I already had a PSone that had Spyro 3: Year of the Dragon (which I played a lot), Scooby-Doo and the Cyber Chase (which I played to an extent), and Gran Turismo 2 (which I barely played), Pokémon Colosseum (and, more importantly, its Bonus Disc) was not only the reason I got a GameCube but was also my first dive into a dedication of console gaming.

The regard goes farther. This dedication led me to a more eager look into the workings and history of electronic games, the “scene”, hacks, actual game-making, and so on. Pokémon also led me to not only Internet forums but also website-making. Even my current interest in art and languages were, in part, from Pokémon! Even Wuu Shyng, my final project of my master’s degree and a game that I am developing, is based off Pokémon!

Mewtwo himself is significant here; I learned and got into Pokémon when the movie Mewtwo Strikes Back was on videocasette! On Pokémon FireRed and Pokémon LeafGreen, I find these games one of my favourites in the entire series. If I were to be more specific, the refinements from the later generations, ranging from the better controls to the new moves, made the original experience far more comfortable, the comfort even exceeding that of Pokémon Emerald! That way, the brilliance of the original games now shone more clearly. I also like the new things they added, ranging from the Wireless Club to the Sevii Island, though the latter, admittedly, needed some expansion.

Leave a Reply

