Liberating

My time after graduating from college feels liberating. No longer do I have to struggle through a fast-paced, quickly-compounding schedule that involves stuff that might not even interest me. These days, I can finally learn the things I want to learn and work on the things on which I want to work. I can play and work at the times that fit me best; I know that I like to relax in the morning, but I get into a working mindset at noon then get cumulatively more productive into the night.

Primarily, I have been continuously finding different ways of organizing myself; I have a lot of stuff that I wanted to do but had to put off until after graduation! I also have been reading on game design and character design recently.  I even tried out some vaporwave music, which eventually inspired me to try again with music-making, that is, a weak area of mine! (If only I could make vaporwave-style loops in the Pico-8, now…)

Of course, this new freedom has its own risks. Away from a setting directed by structured, time-sensitive expectations, my own responsibility plays a much bigger part. A lack of responsibility in this situation leads to wasted days. Then again, the time I spent during my master’s degree was time developing some much-needed soft skills, responsibility being one of them. I ended up learning how to lead my interests; I followed my whims if they advanced productively. For example, during my final project, I had a schedule that flexibly stated which areas of my development would receive my focus each day, but, if I felt like doing something from a different stage, I followed that whim because I would harness that momentual motivation towards the end goal: the completed project. Another example would be the situation in the first paragraph here; I am studying game design and character design while looking into music-making, all areas that would benefit my game-making career.

Then again, harnessing my interests towards productive ends is easy when you naturally want to do your job in the first place. Even when I got full-on tired after the high-pressure situation from my master’s project, I got a hankering for game development just a week after submitting all my work. These days, working on game development is actually both fun and relaxing.

That does not mean that procrastination is not an issue. Right now, I am not looking forward to actually coding the game because I am still figuring out how to use a from of simulated object-oriented programming in solving the problem of generating opponents per each round of play in  my game Re-Hoard. I am not really one to shy away from hard work, but the real issue is the lack of clarity of the solution I seek and a fear that I would get myself into deeper problems during the process. Re-Hoard is my responsibility, though, plus I have already progressed so much in the game development. What I plan on doing is doing a little of the problem at a time, working until my comfort runs out, yet returning to the problem frequently. I find that this way of approaching big problems works best with me.

Coincidentally, I have been doing everything, not just “work work,” in terms of “a little at a time”. I plan, read, research, and experiment a little at a time. I would attribute this to both my much more relaxed situation and my own natural preference to the more easy-going.

After all, even this blog is an “idyll romp.”

Leave a Reply

